Far Far Away by Miriam J Weinstein

Uncategorized

     There have been many great moments over ths past semester, but I loved the experience of venturing out to Irvington, Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow last Friday the most. This was not just an excursion, it was a journey. During the trip, several of us commented on how we felt we had been transported to another place and time. For me it was like leaving the country! Because, even as a native New Yorker, there were many sights, and much history that I did not know. This was my first trip to these places, the first time seeing the statue of Rip Van Winkle, the first time I had been to Irvington, and the first time visiting Stone Hill Farm. I  was amongst a group of people from all over the world, and I was learning as they were learning.

     Although we would meet weekly for 3 hours, and even though we took other outings together, none were so intimate as this one – I got to connect with many on a deeper level than was possible before… because there was time, and because there was opportunity… and because being out of the confines of the city also opened up a different kind of space which allowed for a different kind of adventure.

1. Class with Rip Van Winkle at Irvington

     While it was the most vexing part for me, our trek back to the train at the end of the day was also the most rewarding. I learned a lot about myself and others during that time. It gave me insight into how I respond in the midst of uncertainty, and what was for me, a scary moment. As I reflected I realized I too would like to be more trusting of the journey and I will aim to do so. And this day was an excellent day – one that I was most grateful to be a part of, and one that will remain with me.

Leave a Reply

